Music SA has today announced the appointment of a new board, following its annual general meeting, which introduces key corporate and music industry expertise to the organisation to build on the significant achievements of 2017.

Committed to developing South Australia’s original contemporary music industry, Music SA appointed new directors Stu MacQueen (Wonderlick Entertainment Group), Laura Vozzo (Director LVC Global Communications), Troy Sincock (Radio Executive, Adelaide DJ and Music Podcaster) and Madeleine Frost (Educational Consultant).

They join fellow esteemed directors Amanda Pepe (Editor, Opinion Media), accountant Elizabeth Elliot (Director, Perks Integrated Business Services), lawyer Craig McKay (Principal, Craig McKay Legal) and Brenton Gowland (Director, Nucleus Marketing). Chair of Music SA, the renowned contemporary music programmer, Anne Wiberg, said: “Music SA has attracted a stellar cast of directors to lead the company into what we envisage is a strong and bright future. It’s an exciting time in our UNESCO City of Music, with an emerging cohort of extremely talented musicians and a supportive environment brought about through sheer hard work and years of collaboration and investment across industry and government. Music SA is leading the way with Lisa Bishop as our General Manager, working strategically with a forward thinking board. I’m also proud that we have a gender balance, both in our board and our staff.”

At its Annual General Meeting last night, it was reported that in 2017 Music SA:

• produced Umbrella, a two-week live music festival of 300 shows across 100 city venues with 50,000 attendances
• staged the South Australian Music Awards with record voting and 500 people in attendance
• curated performance opportunities for Bands On Track, Adelaide Sounds and Rock The Square
• provided education and career advice for over 700 artists
• ran a comprehensive program of eight free music business workshops with APRA AMCOS
• conducted a Live Music Census and produced Best Practice Venue Factsheets
• promoted major marketing campaigns for SA musicians
• saw over 35 students graduate from Music SA’s RTO with nationally accredited music certificates
• worked alongside AIR to stage Indie Con, the AIR Awards and Scouted in Adelaide
• ran 3 music video production initiatives with SA film schools

Anne Wiberg also commented on outgoing board directors Helen Page (Event Manager and Live Music Photographer) and P J Murton (Artist Manager and Youth Education Specialist): “Helen and PJ have devoted years of service to Music SA and their contribution has enriched the lives of many musicians and helped Music SA to become the sustainable company it is today. I’m extremely grateful for their efforts.”