In a new, exciting location, the South Australian Music (SAM) Awards will return this November to honour our South Australian music industry.

Entries open today, with the winners to be announced later this year at the annual presentation ceremony at Bonython Hall, thanks to a new partnership between Music SA and University of Adelaide.

Music SA CEO Lisa Bishop said the new location is the perfect venue to host the music industry’s night of nights.

“With so many fantastic musicians to come out of the University of Adelaide, as well as an excellent music education program, this partnership stands to pay homage to the exceptional talent we have created here in South Australia,’ she said. “We are so pleased to be holding the SAM Awards at the beautiful Bonython Hall and we are looking forward to honouring our local artists and industry representatives.”

University of Adelaide Vice-Chancellor Professor Peter Rathjen AO said: “As an institution that has shaped the past and future of music culture in South Australia, the University of Adelaide is proud to be the host venue of the South Australian Music Awards.

“Our new strategic plan establishes a clear role for the University as an active participant in the community and as part of the ‘beating heart of Adelaide’, with creativity and culture among our key industry engagement priorities.

“The University’s partnership with the South Australian Music Awards is a demonstration of our ongoing commitment to creativity and the arts, and is a natural fit with our role as the leader of music education in the State.”

Held on Friday November 22, the SAM Awards is a stand out fixture on the UNESCO Adelaide City of Music’s calendar of events and award recipients will join such esteemed company as previous winners A.B. Original, Adrian Eagle, West Thebarton and Tkay Maidza.

Minister for Innovation and Skills David Pisoni said the awards are a fantastic way to recognise, promote and celebrate excellence in the South Australian contemporary music industry.

“We have such incredible talent here in the South Australian music industry, and the SAM Awards night is an important event which acknowledges the hard work and creativity of our local industry,” he said.

Online entries across a range of categories run from today until September 2, so musicians can nominate now for a chance to be recognised in their category.

Once again, the award categories will include both People’s Choice Awards, voted by the public, and SAM Awards, selected by a judging panel of local and national industry peers, awarded on November 22 at the SAM Awards Gala Ceremony.

Artists may enter themselves to be in the running or music fans can enter their favourite act via the official SAM Awards website:,

The awards continue under the stewardship of Music SA, which has organised the event since 2015, following the re-branding of the Fowler’s Live Music Awards.

Chair of Music SA Anne Wiberg said the 2019 awards are set to, once again, pay tribute to the incredible talent we have in our state.

“The music and production coming out of South Australia is consistently outstanding, and the opportunity to celebrate this through an event like the SAM Awards is a genuine honour,” she said.

Alongside Music SA, this year’s SAM Awards will be presented in conjunction with major partners Department of Innovation and Skills (through the Music Development Office), University of Adelaide, The Music, Moshtix, Australian Hotels Association (SA Branch) and beverage partners Yalumba, The Hills Cider Company and Young Henrys.

The ceremony continues to be an open event, with early bird tickets going on sale to the general public on September 11 via Moshtix.

Award categories:

People’s Choice Awards

Blues & Roots Artist
Country Artist
Electronic Artist
Experimental Artist
Folk Artist
Heavy Artist
Hop-Hop Artist
Jazz Artist
Pop Artist
Punk Artist
Rock Artist
Soul/Funk/RnB Artist


SAM Awards

Best Studio
Best Engineer
Best Music Festival/Event
Best Music Venue
Best Manager
Best Cover Art
Best Music Video
Best Song
Best New Artist
Best Aboriginal/Torres Strait Island Artist
Best Group
Best Solo Artist
Best Release