Hero Image: Michael Ross from Electric Fields accepting an award captured by Samuel Graves

The winners of the 2022 SAM Awards have been announced!

The 2022 South Australian Music Awards were celebrated last night (Thursday, November 17) at the Hindley Street Music Hall, honouring the best in South Australian music over the past 12 months.

Over 30 awards were presented by the evening’s MC, national musical icon Jane Gazzo, plus special live performances from Dem Mob, Nancy Bates, Tilly Tjala Thomas, and Wanderers ensured the energy was kept alive all night.

Elsy Wameyo was the talk of the night as the growing Hip-Hop star took home five awards from six nominations, including Best Song for her track River Nile, Best Release for her ‘Nilotoc’ EP, along with winning Best Solo Artist, and Best Music Video for Nilotic which was shot with Richard Coburn. Wameyo also picked up an industry award earlier in the week for her talents beyond the stage by taking out Best Studio Engineer/Producer.

Congratulations to all the finalists and winners of this year’s awards! See the full list of winners below.

2022 Major Award Winners

Best Song
Elsy Wameyo – River Nile

Best New Artist

Best Regional Artist
Tilly Tjala Thomas

Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Artist

Best Group
Electric Fields

Best Solo Artist
Elsy Wameyo

Best Release
Elsy Wameyo – Nilotic

2022 Industry Award Winners

Best Studio
Wundenberg’s Recording Studio

Best Studio Engineer / Producer
Elsy Wameyo

Best Live Technician
Lachlan Sheehan

Best Venue

Best Regional Venue/Activation
Big Easy Radio

Best Major Festival / Event
Spin Off Festival

Best Small Festival / Event
Space Jams

Best Manager
Sian Walden (Little Acorn Music)

Best Cover Art
Paloma Ellery – SONS OF ZÖKU (SÜN)

Best Music Video
Elsy Wameyo & Richard Coburn – Elsy Wameyo (Nilotic)

Best Innovation
Porch Records

Best Music Educator
Adelaide Youth Orchestras

2022 People’s Choice Awards Winners

Blues/Roots Award
Cal Williams Jr

Country Award
Ella & Sienna

Electronic Award

Experimental Award

Folk Award
Ukulele Death Squad

Heavy Award

Hip Hop Award
We Move Like Giants

Jazz Music Award
The Shaolin Afronauts

Pop Award
Electric Fields

Punk Award
Teenage Joans

Rock Award

Soul/ Funk/ RnB Award

Special Awards Winners

MusicSA Community Award
Northern Sound System

UNESCO City of Music Collaboration Award
Adelaide Guitar Festival: Origination

APRA AMCOS Emily Burrows Award
Molly Rocket

Neville Clarke Award (presented by SAE Institute)
Thessa Louren

Neville Clarke Award (presented by TAFE SA)
Lucinda Machin