Music SA today opened the entries for the third annual South Australian Music Awards (SAM Awards).

Delivered as an opportunity to recognise, celebrate and promote excellence in South Australian contemporary music, the SAM Awards continues to highlight the growing importance and wealth of the South Australian Music Industry.

South Australian artists and businesses can enter the 2017 awards online at with entries open until midnight Sunday 6 August.

The 2017 South Australian Music Awards are divided into two exciting award categories; The People’s Choice Awards, set to be decided by public vote with the online voting opening on in early August. The People’s Choice Awards will host 12 genre-based awards, each presented with the support of a key South Australian business partner.

In addition to the People’s Choice Awards, the most weighted awards of the night will be The Peer-Voted Awards. Judged by a stellar line up of 20 local and national industry experts, including Double J’s Dorothy Markek, AU Review Editor in Chief Sose Fuamoli, A.B Original MC Trials, Remote Control Record’s Harvey Saward, I Oh You Director Johann Ponniah, and many others; The SAM Awards aim to highlight the most outstanding achievement in the South Australian Music industry over the past twelve months.

Blues/Roots Award – presented by Radio Adelaide
Country Award – presented by Grace Emily Hotel
Electronic Award – presented by Fresh 92.7
Experimental Award – presented by Ancient World
Folk Award – presented by Wheatsheaf Hotel
Heavy Award – presented by Australian Rock & Metal Institute
Hip Hop Award – presented by Northern Sound System
Jazz/Art Music Award – presented by Elder Conservatorium
Pop Award – presented by The Gov
Punk Award – presented by Crown & Anchor
Rock Award – presented by Fat Controller
World Music Award – presented by WOMADelaide

Best Studio
Best Engineer
Best Music Festival / Event – presented by moshtix
Best Music Venue
Best Manager
Best Cover Art
Best Music Video
Best Song – presented by APRA AMCOS
Best New Artist
Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Island Artist
Best Group
Best Male Artist
Best Female Artist
Best Release

Music SA’s General Manager Lisa Bishop said that she is excited to see the growth in the awards and the interest the awards are achieving on a national level.

“The calibre of judges for the 2017 SAM Awards is extraordinary and we’d like to thank them for volunteering their time and expertise. I encourage all eligible artists and music businesses to enter the awards so we can celebrate and champion the very best South Australian music has to offer this November” said Ms Bishop.

Entries for the 2017 South Australian Music Awards will remain open until Sunday 6 August. All award information, eligibility criteria and online entry forms are now available at

The 2017 SAM Awards will be held in Adelaide on Thursday 9 November 2017. Full event details will be revealed next month.

SAM awards judges artwork2


Alice Fraser (Lunatic Entertainment), Anne Wiberg (Music SA Board), Bonnie Dalton (Minnow & Co), Dan Cribb (The Music), Dan Sant (The Harbour Agency), Dot Markek (Double J), Emma Coyle (Music SA), Greg Carey (Grow Yourself Up), Harvey Saward (Remote Control Records), Jess Beston (Tiny Monster), Johann Ponniah (I Oh You), Luke Penman (Radio Adelaide), Matt Horvath (Clarity Records), Rebecca Young (Collective Artists), Richard Moffat (Way Over There), Sose Fuamoli (AU Review), Spoz (Spoz’s Rant), Tam Boakes (Jive), Trials (A.B. Original) and Troy Sincock (Fresh 92.7)

logo strip